Moving Forward: My resolutions for 2014

There’s a reason I haven’t really posted since mid December. My last two weeks in Singapore were some sort of an emotional roller coaster. There were high highs and low lows. I was deeply hurt. I won’t repeat the events because a) I do not wish to remember what happened, and b) I do not want to implicate the people involved as they showed remorse and did not set out to intentionally break me. To be honest, I am still hurting. Every time I think about what happened, it’s like I’m finding out for the first time all over again.

Due to what has occurred, I have had to do A LOT of thinking. And seeing as it is New Year’s Eve Eve, I thought (see, I think a lot) that it would be an appropriate time to make resolutions. Fingers crossed I actually stick to them. As my “theme” for next year, I’m borrowing Julia Gillard’s favourite phrase “Moving forward”. I want to challenge myself to do things that I’ve had trouble with in 2013. I want to leave all of this year’s crap behind and well…move on.

In 2014, I want to…

Let things go.
That song from Frozen comes to mind. In 2014, I want to be better at forgiving and forgetting. I don’t want to hold grudges, I don’t want be mad at people for long periods and I don’t want to keep bringing up to past. I’ve always been terrible at forgiveness. Which is pretty silly because God has already forgiven me for the many sins I have committed. The events that have occurred recently have revealed to me that I should learn not to hold grudges because who am I to be unforgiving to those who have wronged me when I myself have wronged God? What kind of testament am I if I cannot do what God did for me? 

Get healthy.
Just because I’m skinny, doesn’t mean I’m healthy. I eat so much crap, especially when I’m studying. I don’t really exercise except for walking around uni for classes. This year, I went to a Zumba class semi-regularly. In 2014, I want to go to Zumba every week (if it fits with my timetable) and go on regular runs/walks. I also want to watch what I eat. I want to eat more fruit and veg and less chocolate and chips.

Do what I love again.
In high school, I was in the choir for four years. I love to sing. I’m not great at it, but I love it. Singing made me happy. Which is why this year, I’m going to look into joining the choir at uni. I’ll go into a number of practices and see how I feel. If it isn’t right, I’ll try community choirs as there are plenty around. I just want to sing again.

Draw near to Jesus.
I was born into a Christian family and my parents have done a great job in encouraging me to form my own beliefs and my own relationship with God. This year, though, my priorities kinda went out of whack. In 2014, I want to really study the Word. I want Jesus to be my top priority and I want to live my life as worship to Him.

So, those are my resolutions for 2014. Let’s see how they go!

 

Leave a Reply

