My Grammar Pet Peeves

I spend too much time on social media. I can spend hours trawling through YouTube, Facebook and the likes. Because of this, I see so many errors that really get on my nerves. Sometimes, I think that there needs to be a test where an individual is not allowed on the Internet until they can differentiate between your and you’re. Maybe I’m some sort of nit-picky, annoying person who sits around on her laptop laughing/crying because of the grammatical errors made by others. Or maybe I just fear for the next generation. Either way, here are 5 of my grammar pet peeves that, in my opinion, need to be fixed ASAP.

5. Your vs. You’re
This is basic grammar. Your indicates possession, e.g. Your dog is silly. You’re is the contracted form of you are, e.g. You’re silly. It’s not hard, people! If I see “Your ignorant” somewhere on the Internet, I’m the type of person who replies with “My ignorant what?” I mean, if you want to insult me, at least do it with correct grammar.

4. There/their/they’re
Again, basic grammar. Most commonly, there is used to indicate being in or at a place/position, e.g. We’ve been there. It’s also used as an exclamation, e.g. There, I said it! Their is an indication of possession, e.g. That’s their house. Lastly, they’re is a contraction of they are, e.g. They’re unable to differentiate between your and you’re. Once again, it’s really not that hard, but I see it all the time and it really gets to me.

3. “I could care less.”
So… you do care? I know people use this to mean they don’t care at all, but saying you “could care less” means you actually care to some extent. What they should say is “I couldn’t care less.” This shows that the extent to which you care cannot possibly be any lower.

2. Apostrophes
I could launch into a lengthy explanation about the appropriate use of apostrophes, but I’ll just touch on a one of the mistakes I often see – using apostrophes to indicate plurals. Recently, I saw someone title an album on Facebook “First photo’s”. Putting ‘s on the end of photo does not make it plural. There are exceptions to the rule. However, apostrophes are more commonly used in contractions (e.g. can’t, won’t, it’s) and to indicate possession (e.g. my aunt’s, your brother’s, that bar’s).

1. “should of, would of, could of”
THIS IS NOT A THING. Of all my grammar pet peeves, this takes the cake. I have no idea why this irks me so much. It just really gets on my nerves when I see someone saying they “should of stayed home tonight”. Yeah, maybe you should have. “Should of” does not exist! Neither does “could of” or “would of”! Please stop with this nonsense. It’s should havecould have and would have. Please, please, please get this right.

Having said all this, I would like to point out that I am not perfect and I do make mistakes, especially when I’m tired. I have caught myself making some of the above errors before, and I always feel so ashamed. Anyway, this post wasn’t meant to come across as judgemental or arrogant – I just get really annoyed when I keep seeing these mistakes everywhere.

Leave a Reply

