30 Days of Gratitude: Day 1

In the pursuit of happiness, I have decided to start being grateful for at least one thing each day for the next 30 days. 

Today, I am grateful for a boss who cares.

At the beginning of the year, I got a job with a tutoring centre. Basically, students would sign up, and the centre would match the student with a tutor. The hours were flexible, and because I was technically hired as a contractor, I could pick which subjects and which level I felt comfortable with. It was all perfect. My boss quickly found me a student, and I began tutoring her not long after. I loved this job, but unfortunately, it came to an end merely a month after it had started. The student wanted tutoring on a different afternoon, which did not suit my schedule. My uni timetable and existing position as a Guide leader only left me with 2 free days to tutor, one of them being a Friday. And let’s face it, no one really wants tutoring on a Friday afternoon.

My boss said she would find me more students, however, given my availability, I thought for sure this was the end of my job at the centre. I didn’t think they’d call me again because my timetable was so rigid.

I was wrong. Over the next couple of months, I received calls and emails from the centre offering me students or even just checking in to see if my availabilities had changed. Each time my boss called, she would promise to find me another student and get me back on board with the centre. She seemed so keen to get me work, and it made me feel useful.

Last Monday, 5 months after I last tutored at the centre, I received a text message from my boss informing me that she had not one, but two students lined up for me at a time that actually suited my schedule. Naturally, I rang her back immediately and said HECK YES. (Not in those words). I start with my two new students this Tuesday and I’m super excited.

I’m very grateful for the time my boss has put into finding me new students. I’m grateful for the fact that she kept in touch.

So there it is, Day 1. I am grateful for a boss who cares.

Leave a Reply

