30 Days of Gratitude: Day 18

Today, I am grateful for Skype.

Dad’s currently in Singapore. I’m kinda jealous. He’s only there for a couple of days to surprise my grandpa (his dad) for his birthday.

Anyway, because he’s in Singapore, we Skyped him tonight. He was over at my grandma’s, which meant that I got to see her too. A while ago, I mentioned on this blog that my maternal grandparents mean A LOT to me. It kills me that I can’t be there to look after my grandma. Skyping her just made my entire day.

The look of awe on her face when she realised she could see me on the computer screen. The beaming smile on her face when she heard me call her “Ah mah!” For the first time in 20 years, she told me I’d put on weight and that she liked how round my face is now. There were moments where she didn’t say a thing. Instead, she sat there with a look of peace and pure joy.

I didn’t realise how much I missed her until tonight. December cannot come any quicker.

Today, I am grateful for Skype.

Leave a Reply

